This website uses cookies to improve your experience. You can accept or reject analytics cookies
Use of Intravenous Recombinant Tissue Plasminogen Activator (rtPA) in Ischaemic Stroke Patients
Cardiovascular HealthHealth Guideline2013
SingaporeEnglishPDF
National
AI-Generated Document Summary
Objectives
Provide updated, evidence-based clinical guidance on intravenous recombinant tissue plasminogen activator (rtPA) for acute ischaemic stroke, helping clinicians achieve appropriate clinical outcomes while retaining responsibility for patient-specific treatment decisions.The guidance updates the 2009 Ministry of Health Clinical Practice Guidelines on Stroke and Transient Ischaemic Attacks in response to further evidence on rtPA safety, effectiveness and cost-effectiveness.
Support timely intravenous rtPA treatment for eligible patients with acute ischaemic stroke.
Balance treatment benefits and thrombolysis-related risks through clinical assessment of contraindications and individual circumstances.
Guide decisions for treatment within 4.5 hours of stroke onset, including the higher-risk 3.0 to 4.5-hour treatment window.
Review the guidance five years after publication, or earlier where new evidence warrants revision.
The available material does not specify broader population health goals, service-expansion targets, equity objectives, numerical treatment targets or priority areas beyond evidence-based rtPA use in acute ischaemic stroke.
Implementation
Implement intravenous rtPA through rapid, expert-led hospital care: offer treatment to eligible patients within 4.5 hours of stroke onset where no contraindication to thrombolytic therapy exists, and begin treatment as soon as possible after presentation.Delivery should occur in centres with appropriate facilities and expertise, with efforts to minimise the time between hospital arrival and treatment.
Assess eligibility and contraindications before administering thrombolytic therapy.
Prioritise rapid initiation of rtPA to optimise potential clinical benefit and reduce thrombolysis-related risks.
Consider excluding higher-risk patients treated between 3.0 and 4.5 hours after onset, including people aged over 80 years, people with severe stroke, people with both previous stroke and diabetes mellitus, and people receiving oral anticoagulants.
Base recommendations on systematic review of clinical studies and systematic reviews concerning rtPA efficacy and safety, supplemented by expert judgement.
Use defined evidence grades, with Grade A recommendations requiring directly applicable and generally consistent high-level evidence, including high-quality randomised controlled trials and meta-analyses.
Develop and update guidance through a clinical workgroup of stroke neurologists from public and private sectors.
Draw on workgroup members appointed in personal professional capacities, including a chairperson, three members and two subsidiary editors.
Named institutions associated with the workgroup included the National University Health System, National Neuroscience Institute campuses, the Ministry of Health and the Health Sciences Authority.The material does not specify formal implementation governance, referral pathways, workforce training, procurement arrangements, routine audits, performance indicators, reporting systems, accountability mechanisms, treatment budgets or financing arrangements.
Monitoring & Evaluation
Evaluation arrangements centre on evidence appraisal and periodic guideline updating rather than routine performance monitoring. Recommendations are graded using defined evidence levels, from high-quality randomised controlled trials and meta-analyses to expert opinion; Grade A requires directly applicable, generally consistent high-level evidence.Clinical studies and systematic reviews were assessed for the efficacy and safety of intravenous recombinant tissue plasminogen activator (rtPA) when administered 3 to 4.5 hours after acute ischaemic stroke onset.
Review the guidance five years after publication, or earlier where new evidence warrants revised recommendations.
Use systematic evidence review and expert judgement from a workgroup of public- and private-sector stroke neurologists to develop recommendations.
Maintain professional governance through a workgroup appointed in members’ personal capacities, comprising a chairperson, three members and two subsidiary editors; listed affiliated institutions include the National University Health System, National Neuroscience Institute campuses, the Ministry of Health and the Health Sciences Authority.
Acknowledge that routine implementation indicators, treatment audits, reporting arrangements, surveillance systems and formal accountability mechanisms are not specified.
Costing & Financing
Cost-effectiveness formed part of the evidence considered in updating clinical guidance on rtPA, but the available material provides no operational costing or financing framework.
Assess cost-effectiveness alongside safety and effectiveness evidence when reviewing rtPA guidance.
Note that treatment costs, budgets, financing arrangements, funding sources, resource allocations, resource-mobilisation measures, funding gaps and economic assumptions are not specified.