Liberia’s National Infection Prevention and Control (IPC) Strategy seeks to provide accessible, appropriate, equitable and evidence-based IPC programmes across public and private healthcare, reduce healthcare-associated infections (HAIs), protect patients and health workers, and strengthen preparedness for outbreaks and other public-health threats.It positions IPC as a foundation for safe, effective, quality healthcare, universal health coverage, antimicrobial resistance reduction, water, sanitation and hygiene (WASH), occupational health, and the One Health approach.
The strategy is organised around the World Health Organization’s eight core components of IPC programmes, with particular emphasis on gaps in the national IPC programme, education and training, HAI surveillance, and the built environment, materials and equipment.Baseline evidence indicates substantial weaknesses: a 2022 assessment recorded 0% for national HAI surveillance and 20% for monitoring, audit and feedback, while a facility assessment found mean compliance of 33% with minimum IPC programme requirements and a 4% mean HAI-surveillance score.
Its intended framework is described principally as the 2022-2027 National IPC Strategy, although some extracts refer to a four-year strategy period of 2023-2027 and a 2022-2026 monitoring and evaluation period.
Implementation is intended to use a tiered, integrated delivery model spanning national, county or district, hospital and other facility levels, combining system change, training, monitoring and feedback, workplace reminders, and a safety culture rather than treating these as separate interventions.National leadership sits with the Ministry of Health Healthcare Quality Management Unit, supported by a National IPC Coordinator or Focal Person, the National IPC Steering Committee and an IPC Technical Working Group.
Operational delivery includes reviewing, printing and distributing Ministry-approved guidelines; training and mentoring facility staff and focal persons; conducting active HAI surveillance in district hospitals; integrating HAI and other IPC indicators into District Health Information Software 2; and providing regular feedback to health workers, managers and stakeholders.Multimodal interventions are to support hand hygiene, surgical-site infection prevention and other IPC priorities across public and private facilities.
Monitoring is to operate through a country-led Ministry of Health platform, with a plan containing priority interventions, core indicators, baselines and annual targets.Proposed mechanisms include routine audits, facility self- and peer-assessment, quarterly hand-hygiene observation, annual hand-hygiene self-assessment, supervisory visits and reporting through District Health Information Software 2.A mid-term review was planned for 2025, followed by an end evaluation to inform the subsequent strategy.
The monitoring matrix includes quarterly tracking of national and subnational Steering Committee meetings, targeting four meetings annually from 2023 to 2027 after a baseline of zero in 2022.It also tracks hospitals with costed annual IPC operational plans and government IPC expenditure as a share of total government health expenditure.
Financing is intended to shift from fragmented government, private-sector and partner contributions towards a costed implementation framework and dedicated IPC budgets nationally and at facility level.The costing summary reports a total annual requirement of USD 8,669,714, including USD 3,070,764 for IPC programmes, USD 1,450,050 for guidelines, USD 1,225,000 for multimodal strategies and USD 639,000 for HAI surveillance.The source does not specify confirmed funding sources, allocations, funding gaps or economic assumptions for the full strategy.
The strategy establishes a national monitoring, evaluation, surveillance and feedback architecture for infection prevention and control (IPC), centred on routine facility assessment, healthcare-associated infection (HAI) surveillance, reporting through the District Health Information Software 2 (DHIS2), and use of findings for quality improvement and accountability.
The monitoring matrix includes specific measures for programme functionality, implementation fidelity, operational planning and budget allocation. It sets a 2022 baseline of zero for planned national and subnational IPC Steering Committee meetings, with annual targets of four meetings from 2023 to 2027.It also tracks hospitals with costed annual IPC operational plans, with a 2022 baseline of zero and listed targets of 23 hospitals and 35 health centres.
Important gaps remain: earlier assessments found no established national or facility HAI surveillance systems, limited microbiology support, weak monitoring and audit feedback, and no comprehensive national IPC monitoring and evaluation system.The strategy assigns oversight roles to the Health Quality Management Unit, IPC Technical Working Group, IPC Steering Committee, facility focal persons and monitoring bodies, but several extracts do not specify complete indicator definitions, reporting templates, sanctions or formal accountability procedures.
The strategy identifies substantial financing and resource gaps in IPC, while providing a costed annual requirement of USD 8,669,714.00 across the eight IPC core components.It envisages dedicated budgets at national and facility levels, a costed implementation framework, and coordinated resource mobilisation from government, private-sector and development-partner sources.
The annual costing summary allocates USD 3,070,764.00 to IPC programmes, USD 1,450,050.00 to guidelines, USD 515,900.00 to education and training, USD 639,000.00 to HAI surveillance, USD 1,225,000.00 to multimodal strategies, USD 524,750.00 to monitoring and auditing, USD 903,750.00 to workload, staffing and bed occupancy, and USD 338,500.00 to the built environment, supplies and equipment.Activity-level costs are also provided for surveillance, audits, laboratory inputs, communications, decontamination and field visits, although many entries do not identify a currency or period.
World Health Organization support for strategy development and planning included technical, logistical and financial assistance, but the associated amount and period are not specified.Several extracts identify insufficient allocations, high or unavailable prices for IPC materials, inadequate maintenance resources, limited funding for periodic surveillance and no workload-based staff-recruitment budget mechanism.Except where the costing matrix specifies USD, the source does not provide currencies, financing timetables, quantified funding gaps or economic assumptions.